Hurting God

Is it possible for human beings to hurt the heart of God? Here’s what Ezekiel 6:9 says: “Then those of you who escape [the exile] will remember Me among the nations to which they will be carried captive, how I have been hurt by their adulterous hearts which turned away from Me, and by their eyes which played the harlot after their idols; and they will loathe themselves in their own sight for the evils which they have committed, for all of their abominations.”

I checked the meaning of the word “hurt” in the original Hebrew (shabar 7665). It means hurt, even shattered. It doesn’t seem possible that the God of creation could be hurt by His puny creatures.

It’s true. His heart is shattered by our hearts that run after other things besides Him. His heart is shattered by our eyes that look upon our idols, the things we love more than God.

Here’s a snapshot of me, B.C. (Before Christ):

I follow after every god in this world: money, success, fame, even drugs when I’m young. I find Jesus offensive. How can He be the only way to heaven? I decide Jesus came in many forms to every culture. Buddha and the rest were all Jesus, just dressed differently.

My greatest idol is my own opinion. I love and cherish my opinions. I groom and feed them with the wisdom of this world.  I have no time for the Bible but plenty of time to express my self-made religion. If someone tells me something from the Bible that conflicts with my treasured opinions, I scoff at what they say.  I have no idea I am in exile, until I’m suddenly humbled by multiple sclerosis (MS). Then there’s nowhere else to look but up.

I shattered the heart of God. But He loved me, in spite of it.  You won’t find that kind of love except in heaven and in those who have heaven in their souls. I didn’t deserve anything from Him. He opened my eyes anyway. I saw that I was in exile, far from the kingdom of God.

He showed me Jesus Christ, His Son. Suddenly, I was ashamed of rejecting and reviling Jesus. I prayed a desperate prayer, asking Him to take them away my adultery and idolatry. I asked Him to forgive me.

Jesus Christ brought me from darkness into His marvelous light. I prayed for eyes to see only Him and for a heart filled with His love. He answers desperate prayer!

Nothing is too difficult for God. My rebellion (sin) was great. What is your sin? Have you reviled and rejected Him? Do you hold your own opinion higher than the truth of the Bible? Then you have shattered His heart. Think about that until you weep.

He forgave me and He’ll forgive you. Pray to the Lord, confessing what you’ve done. You know the difference between right and wrong. I don’t have to tell you what sin is. Turn away from it and look into His glorious face. The God whose heart you’ve shattered will quickly respond, and bring you into His glorious kingdom. That’s the love of God. It’s incomprehensible. It’s yours for the asking.

Author: Susan Wynn, servant of Jesus Christ

Healed by Jesus Christ of MS in 2001, in the middle of the night! Proclaiming His gospel, His healing, His heart. Author of From Death To Life--A True Story of Healing, Hope and Being Set Free. Our ministry: My Father's Place, a ministry without walls, proclaiming Jesus Christ to the world.

Leave a Reply

