Promises to Those Who Believe

These are notes from a message I gave on Sunday, 6/5/11. May your heart be stirred, in Jesus’ name.

By “Those Who Believe,” I mean those who have entered through the portal from life as you knew it to life in Christ. I mean those who have entered through the Door and have been changed to the point where everyone around you sees the change in you! Glory to God! If you are one of these, here are His promises to you, from John 14:1-24, with interpretation of the original Greek.

14:1 Your heart will not in the least be roiled up like the ocean in a storm (I did not say “let not” as your Bible may say) because you have obeyed My command to believe in God and in Me.

14:2-3 I will come again and take you to the place I am preparing for you so you may be with Me.

14:4-6 You will know (fully perceive) the way — Me!

14:7-9 You will intimately and fully know the Father and Me, and you will recognize the Father in Me. (I am the exact representation of His nature — Hebrews 1:3)

14:10-12 I do My Father’s works, because I am in the Father and the Father is in Me. The Father’s works themselves cause many to believe.

If, like Me, you are in the Father and the Father is in you, then truly, truly,  you will do My Father’s works, the same works I did (now think, “What are the works that Jesus did?). You will do those things.

You will do greater than these: I did not impart the Holy Spirit to others while I was on the earth (John 7:37). I had to return to My Father first. [Because you will be filled with the Holy Spirit, you will be able to impart  Him to others so they also are filled with Him. This is the “greater” that you will do.]

14:13 You will have My nature and can therefore ask in My name. You will no longer have the sin nature you were born with. Therefore, you will be able to ask and I will give whatever you ask. [The Holy Spirit in you makes you able to ask in My name. I said to my disciples, “Until now, you have not asked in My name” (John 16:24).]

PURPOSE: The Father will be glorified through Me when You do My works in My name. Doing so proves I am the living Son of God, sent by Him.

14:14 I repeat so you understand it is very important. When you have My nature,  you can ask Me anything in My name, and I will do it.

14:15 If you love (agape) Me with the same love with which the Father loves Me, you will obey Me just like I obey the Father. [You must love and obey Me in order for me to do what you ask Me to do. The Holy Spirit is given to those who obey (Acts 5:32).

NOTE: The word “and” is not included in some translations of the Bible, but it is in the original Greek text. There is a relationship between obedience and what He will ask the Father to do.

14:16-17 My Father will give you another Helper, one who is like Me. He will be with you forever. This Helper is the Holy Spirit (see verse 26). You will  intimately know the Holy Spirit because He will be literally located in you.

14:19 You will see Me; You will gaze at Me, behold and discern Me and  experience Me. I am alive with zoe, life as God has it. Because I have zoe (eternal life, life as God has it), you will have zoe.

14:20  Because the day has come that I have risen and am glorified, and have given you the same zoe that I have, You will absolutely know:

–I have the Father’s nature and am literally located in Him
–You have My nature and are literally located in Me
–I am literally located within you

14:21 I know who loves Me — the one who obeys Me. If you love Me:

–My Father will love you
–I will love you
–I will disclose Myself to you (I will clearly show you that I am real, and you will will clearly see Me)

14:23  I know who loves Me — the one who obeys Me. If you love Me:

–My Father will love you
–My Father and I will come to you
–My Father and I will dwell literally inside you

14:24   If you do not love Me, you do not obey Me. This word is not Mine, but      the Father’s who sent Me. [Those who love Me obey Me. Those who do not love Me disobey Me.]

The great thing about comparing ourselves to God’s Word is this: If we find we do not have Christ’s nature in us, we can ask Him for His nature. He’ll say, “I’m glad you asked!” and give it to you. If we find, when we stand beside the plumb line of His Word, that we are not plumb, we can cry out to the Father, “I’m not plumb . . . make me plumb!” We don’t have the power to change ourselves, but He promises that He will put a new heart in us, as He says in Ezekiel 36:26-27 (NIV): “I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh. And I will put my Spirit in you and move you to follow my decrees and be careful to keep my laws.” Then we will have His nature and all of the promises of John 14 are ours, for His glory!

Author: Susan Wynn, servant of Jesus Christ

Healed by Jesus Christ of MS in 2001, in the middle of the night! Proclaiming His gospel, His healing, His heart. Author of From Death To Life--A True Story of Healing, Hope and Being Set Free. Our ministry: My Father's Place, a ministry without walls, proclaiming Jesus Christ to the world.

Leave a Reply

