Enjoying the Lord

“Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.” Psalm 37:4

Sometimes I think I get wrapped up in asking the Lord to make me more like Him and forget that it is perfectly good and right just to E-N-J-O-Y the Lord. It’s right to dance and sing before Him, to rejoice in the showers of blessing that He pours out as I delight in Him!

It is absolutely true that the word “delight” in the above Scripture means to make myself soft and pliable in His hands. But it is good and right and pleasing to Him when I surf the waves of His love, when I open my mouth as He pours out a bucket of joy on my head! Glory!

He is just as pleased with my enjoyment of Him as with my desire to be more like Him. The joy of the Lord is my strength! Sometimes when I’m worshiping Him, I am so overwhelmed with His joy and His presence and His love that I have to stop singing and simply weep for joy! Oh, it is lovely!

These things must be held in balance. He is not “Six Flags over Jesus,” there only for my amusement. He wants my heart to be open to Him so He can make me more and more like Him. But He is to be thoroughly E-N-J-O-Y-E-D!!!!

The Lord is so kind to me – He gives me songs in the night, or in the morning, or at midday. I never know when, but I hear a melody, or words come and then a melody. It just comes into my heart and I must write it! I wrote a song called, “My God and My King” (©2006). Here are the words:

You call to me, I come to You, and You take my hand,

And we dance a dance of love and joy,

And I leap and shout Your glorious name,

I fall down and rise and we embrace,

My Jesus, my God and my King!

When trouble comes, I sing Your praise, and You flood my heart

With Your love, Your joy, Your grace, Your peace,

And from all my troubles I am released,

And together we sing of Your freedom and light

And deliv’rance, my God and my King!

I wait on You, until the Day when You will come

And I’ll rise with You to the Kingdom that’s waiting

To the place that You have prepared for me

And I’ll worship before Your throne

And cast my crown at Your beautiful feet!

I’ll cast my crown at Your beautiful feet!

I’ll cast my crown at Your beautiful feet!

This is truly the life that God gives us when we believe in Christ! It is not dos and don’ts, rules and regulations, but an intimate, intertwining, glorious relationship with God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit! You must agree with God that you have rebelled against Him and you must believe that Jesus was sent by God the Father to save you from God’s wrath. But when you do that truly, from your heart, life begins – life as God has it, His life in you, and you suddenly know that you are right with God! I remember my life before Him – it was existence. I know my life now – it is righteousness, peace and joy! Oh, enter in!

A year before the Lord healed me of MS, I received my first song in the night (©2000). The second verse goes like this:

Now my life is complete I am whole;

Let me serve You, Lord, body and soul;

For the joy of Your love I must share;

Help me spread the Good News everywhere!

“For the joy of Your love I must share.”  I must share His joy, for the joy of the Lord, the joy of His love that happens when you, the created ones, turn to your Creator God and love and obey Him. Come! E-N-J-O-Y!

Author: Susan Wynn, servant of Jesus Christ

Healed by Jesus Christ of MS in 2001, in the middle of the night! Proclaiming His gospel, His healing, His heart. Author of From Death To Life--A True Story of Healing, Hope and Being Set Free. Our ministry: My Father's Place, a ministry without walls, proclaiming Jesus Christ to the world.

Leave a Reply

