The Joy of the Lord

John 15:11 “These things I have spoken to you so that My joy may be in you, and that your joy may be made full.”

I don’t know how many times I’ve read that passage and not had the deeper revelation of it. The Lord in His goodness just widened my view, and it is glorious! Thank God He takes me from one wide space to another, so I may understand Him more fully.

As I came to sit at Jesus’ feet this morning, I lit a fragrant new candle, pumpkin spice for autumn. Mmmmm. I delighted in Him, wrapping myself around Him. To worship Him is like sweet incense to me. I breathe it in. It is joy unspeakable and full of glory! Pumpkin spice really can’t compare.

Suddenly, I felt a bucket of joy being poured over my head. Well, that’s how I’ve always described it. But I suddenly realized that the joy comes from inside of me, because the Lord lives there. When I worship Him in love and obedience and reverence and awe and total devotion, His joy wells up. It is Him, being joyous inside of me!

The disciples believed in and loved Jesus. They were joyous when they were with Him. But in the passage at the start of this blog, Jesus promised them that His joy would literally be located within them, because He would be literally within them when the Holy Spirit was poured out at Pentecost. And sure enough, that’s what happened. When the Spirit came into them, the Lord came into them and REJOICED! And so it is today. Every time I sense His lead, His correction, His love, His joy, it is Him in me, doing all these things from within me!

Thank you, Lord, for showing this to me. Your joy is indeed my strength. You have strengthened my faith and broadened my view today. I worship You! Now I must go and tell others . . .

Author: Susan Wynn, servant of Jesus Christ

Healed by Jesus Christ of MS in 2001, in the middle of the night! Proclaiming His gospel, His healing, His heart. Author of From Death To Life--A True Story of Healing, Hope and Being Set Free. Our ministry: My Father's Place, a ministry without walls, proclaiming Jesus Christ to the world.

Leave a Reply

