Difficult Times

Acts 16:25-26 But about midnight Paul and Silas were praying and singing hymns of praise to God, and the prisoners were listening to them; and suddenly there came a great earthquake, so that the foundations of the prison house were shaken; and immediately all the doors were opened and everyone’s chains were unfastened.

The Lord wants me to know whether I will pray and sing to God in the midst of my own darkness. I am finding I can — not in my own strength, but His. He has always been my Deliverer in difficult times. He is faithful, and I praise Him with all that is in me!

And difficult times have come upon us. Jeff is in a wheelchair for two months, following surgery to implant a pacemaker. It seems his heart slowed down to nearly the point of death. He nearly fainted at home, and then in the ER the heart monitor showed the reason why.  It isn’t from his 5/3/11 heart attack. The doctors agree he fully recovered from that, even that it was Jesus who healed him. But this is something new. Why the wheelchair? He lost a leg in Vietnam and walks with crutches. A skin condition makes a prosthesis excruciatingly painful, so that’s not an option. At the same time, a virus came upon me that made me feverish and violently ill. I was not able to “be there” for Jeff.

Paul had difficult times, we are having difficult times, we all have difficult times. But to whom do I look? Can I praise Him and pray to Him when I’m in a dark place, as Paul did in the jail at Philippi? He told the Philippians “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me” (Philippians 4:13).  The word for strength there is dunamis, miraculous power. If I call upon Jesus Christ in my difficulty, calling upon Him for His strength (for I have none), I believe there will be prisoners who will hear. I believe there will be a shaking, an opening of prison doors. I love Him, and pray that He may be glorified as I cry out to Him and praise Him in the midst of our present darkness.

Author: Susan Wynn, servant of Jesus Christ

Healed by Jesus Christ of MS in 2001, in the middle of the night! Proclaiming His gospel, His healing, His heart. Author of From Death To Life--A True Story of Healing, Hope and Being Set Free. Our ministry: My Father's Place, a ministry without walls, proclaiming Jesus Christ to the world.

Leave a Reply

