Button-Pushers

Hebrews 10:24 and let us consider how  to stimulate one another to love and good deeds,  25 not forsaking our own  assembling together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another; and all the more as you see the day drawing near.

Dear blog followers, the day is drawing near. I believe the Lord is coming soon and very soon. So I thank God for the button-pushers in the church.

I think I hear you saying, “Huh?” Let me explain.

When I was a child, my father loved to tease my mother. He knew that if he did or said certain things, she’d strongly react. It was kind of like a push-button toy. You push a button and off it goes. Mom had buttons, and he knew where they were and how to push them. When he pushed them, off she’d go. Woo, hoo! She was stimulated, indeed! He was a bodacious button-pusher.

My brother and I didn’t understand what Dad was doing at first. Then we noticed that he was trying to get our attention. When he was sure he had it, he winked. Then he pushed one of Mom’s buttons and we watched. Woo, hoo! He winked again, and loved on Mom. We thought it was fun, but somehow, I don’t think Mom appreciated it the way we did.

Dear blog followers, I believe we all have buttons. That includes me. The Holy Spirit wants to show them to us.

How does He do it? Through the button-pushers Jesus has placed in His church. I love them! I think I hear another “Huh?” Unlike Dad, they may have no idea they have pushed a button on you or me.

Why does He do it?  Keep reading.

God wants to ripen the fruit of the Spirit in you and me by pruning us to give us more light (see John 15). Pruning is not a comfortable process but if you know anything about gardening, it encourages growth and stimulates fruit-production.

Well, wouldn’t you know it? The Lord’s pruner is a push-button model! It’s the perfect pruning tool (of course — He’s perfect). He uses the button-pushers of the church to make us more like Jesus. Without His button-pushers, you and I would never know we had buttons.

I’m uncomfortable when my buttons are pushed. I like comfort! I don’t want to run into any of Your button-pushers at church, Lord! I know. I’ll just shy away from church and stay home. It’s very comfortable there.

Ahhh, home . . .  just Jeff and me. Peace! The love of God poured out in our hearts to overflowing! Unity! Just one problem. If I stay there, I remain blissfully oblivious to my buttons. I defeat the pruning plan God purposely prepared for me.

So, I praise God for the button-pusher I just encountered. It was a VERY uncomfortable experience. But through that person, Jesus showed me I have some buttons. Yippee! He’s going to make me more like Him.

My journal entry for today says,  “You have shown me some buttons, Lord. Sanding them down won’t do — it’s too slow a process. Break them off. I agree with You. I see my buttons!” He’ll take them. I’ve agreed with Him.

But His work in me is not completed. When He breaks off the buttons He just showed me, I can be assured He’ll send along another one of His button-pushers to show me some others that need to be broken off. And in the process, I’ll become even more like my Beloved. Isn’t He wonderful?

Don’t stop going to church because you’ve run into one of God’s button-pushers. Let Him use that person to prune you. He’ll make you more like Jesus so everyone who meets you will take note that you have been with Him. They’ll know He’s real. They might just bow their knee to Him. It’s God’s perfect plan!

Author: Susan Wynn, servant of Jesus Christ

Healed by Jesus Christ of MS in 2001, in the middle of the night! Proclaiming His gospel, His healing, His heart. Author of From Death To Life--A True Story of Healing, Hope and Being Set Free. Our ministry: My Father's Place, a ministry without walls, proclaiming Jesus Christ to the world.

One thought on “Button-Pushers”

Leave a Reply

