Let Me Be Seen, Lord!

2 Corinthians 12:9 And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you; for My power is perfected in weakness.” Therefore, I will rather gladly boast in my weaknesses, that the power of Christ may overshadow [1981 episkenoo — tent upon, abide with] me. Because of this, I am pleased in weaknesses, in insults, in dire needs in persecutions, in distresses, for the sake of Christ, for when I may be weak, then I am powerful.” (Interlinear Bible — a Greek-to-English literal translation)

My title sounds pretty weird to most of us Christians, doesn’t it? We’re always praying, “Hide me behind Your cross, so I am not seen, but only You are seen!” I’ve prayed that for years. I understand what you mean when you say, “Don’t let me be seen, Lord!” You want Him to have the praise and honor, not you. Me, too.

But we MUST be seen, dear brothers and sisters in Christ! If people cannot see our natural inabilities in speaking, if they cannot see the imperfections (I’m not talking sin here, but just our humanity) in our personal lives, then they will not be able to see us being brought from one degree of glory to the next, and from one degree of Christlikeness to the next. It is through His continual molding and shaping, once we have surrendered fully and been filled full, that people marvel. It is through the Holy Spirit’s gifts which He works through us (1 Corinthians 12), and through His fruit continually maturing in us (Galatians 5:22-23) that the reality of the Father and the Son are obvious and that people look on in wonderment.

So let me be seen, Lord, in all my inability and humanity, so it is unmistakably You when I speak and unmistakably You when I act and unmistakably You when signs and wonders are worked by Your Spirit through me. Then I am the indisputable evidence of Your resurrection. Then I truly am Your witness.

Most gladly, therefore, I will shout for joy when I may be seen as human, because then it is obvious that the miracle-working dunamis of Christ abides in me. Father God and Lord Jesus, let all people see, through my humanity, that You have permanently pitched the tent of Your power in me!

Author: Susan Wynn, servant of Jesus Christ

Healed by Jesus Christ of MS in 2001, in the middle of the night! Proclaiming His gospel, His healing, His heart. Author of From Death To Life--A True Story of Healing, Hope and Being Set Free. Our ministry: My Father's Place, a ministry without walls, proclaiming Jesus Christ to the world.

One thought on “Let Me Be Seen, Lord!”

Leave a Reply

