REPENTANCE AND REST

Isaiah 30:15 For thus the Lord God, the Holy One of Israel, has said, “In repentance [turning from your sin and to Me] and rest [descending from your high horse and setting your eyes and heart on Me]  you will be saved, in quietness [being still, settling down with Me] and trust [placing your confidence in Me instead of you] is your strength.” But you were not willing .  . .”

The Lord has a rest beyond human reckoning for His people today! That rest is in Jesus Christ. In Christ, past sins are forgiven and in Christ, our hearts are changed from rebellious to obedient. Oh, while it is still called “Today,” come into His sabbatismos, and rest from your wrestling with sin. Let Him clean you up from the inside out! You’ll heave a sigh of relief when you walk through the portal, the Door which is Christ and enter life and are changed from “dead man walking” to “filled with Christ’s very life.”

But we are not willing. I know, I wasn’t willing for nearly 45 years. Why?

Humans are rebellious against God by nature — even those who call themselves His! And so, we’re in Satan’s grip. We are false sons and daughters because we refuse to listen to the instruction of the Lord (see Isaiah 30:9 and forward). I used to say to the seers and prophets “You must not see visions, you must not prophesy to me what is right. Speak to me pleasant words [smooth things that flatter me, warm fuzzies that make me feel good all under]. Prophesy illusions. Get out of the way, turn aside from the path [scram! get lost!]. Let me hear no more about the HOLY ONE of Israel. I want to do what I want to do. Rules, schmools. I want to be free! There’s this really wide path I’m on, and many others are on it with me. We’re eating and drinking and drugging and being merry! Oh, come on, Jesus. Don’t warn me that this frolicking is fatal, that this path I dig leads to destruction. Give me a break! I just want to have fun. You’re far too serious and stern. Satan has me in his grip? Nah, he’s just a fairy tale. [Satan rubs his hands with glee at that one].

Well, just like God brought rebellious Israel low so they’d have to look up, so it was with me. And when I looked up, I saw how I had struggled against God and broken every one of His good commands that were given for my own good, and I turned from the way I’d been living. I saw that Jesus Christ was an oasis in my desert. I saw that if I’d simply let Him own me lock, stock and barrel, if I’d let Him loosen my hands from my death grip on the steering wheel of my life, I would be FREE, INDEED! Really free, free to the max, free from the grip of Satan, struggle, strife and sin.

Two blind men followed Jesus, crying out, “Have mercy on us!” He asked them,”Do you believe I can do this?” “Yes, Lord,” they cried. So He replied, “It shall be done to you according to your faith.” REPENT! BELIEVE! AND YOU WILL ENTER HIS REST!

Author: Susan Wynn, servant of Jesus Christ

Healed by Jesus Christ of MS in 2001, in the middle of the night! Proclaiming His gospel, His healing, His heart. Author of From Death To Life--A True Story of Healing, Hope and Being Set Free. Our ministry: My Father's Place, a ministry without walls, proclaiming Jesus Christ to the world.

Leave a Reply

