BOASTING

Boast in the Father and His Son, for in this, the Father delights!

[SW077] 01/27/2013 message notes by Rev. Susan J. Wynn ©2013
“Boasting”

Father, what is your heart?

“Tell My people they must use My measuring stick — it’s the one Paul used once he met My Son.”

Philippians 3:7   But  whatever things were gain to me,
those things I have counted as loss [2209 detrimental, harmful, damaging]
for the sake of Christ.  
8 More than that, I count all things [everything]
to be loss [again, 2209 detrimental, harmful, damaging]
 in view of [lit. because of] the surpassing value [5242 supremity, excellency]
of  knowing [1108 gnosis, first knowledge]
Christ Jesus my Lord,  for whom I have suffered the loss of all things,
and count them but rubbish [4657 dung, refuse, what is thrown to the dogs]
so that I may gain Christ,  
9 and may be found [found to be, in a prolonged way] in Him,
not having  a righteousness of my own derived from the Law,
but that which is through faith in Christ,  
the righteousness which comes from God on the basis of faith,  
10 that I may  know Him [1097 ginosko, know absolutely, intimate union in view]
and the power of His resurrection
and the fellowship [2842 participation] of His sufferings,
being conformed to His death; [Galatians 2:20]
11  in order that I may  attain to the resurrection from the dead.

What was gain to Paul before Christ? Look at verse 5-6.
Circumcised on the eighth day
of the nation of Israel of the tribe of Benjamin (son of the right hand)
a Hebrew of Hebrews, a Pharisee (fastidiously law-keepers)

Zealous, righteous and blameless
in his “i” dotting and “t” crossing.

He could put confidence in (boast in)
his religious accomplishments!

But what does he say?
They’re rubbish — literally, dung (verse 8b)!

What does Paul boast about,
since he came to know Christ?

Since his Damascus Road experience (Acts 9),
His whole life became a boast in Christ!

His boasts continue (underline is my emphasis):

Philippians 4:13 I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. (1743 Christ endues Paul with miracle-working power and mighty strength!)

2 Timothy 4:1    I solemnly charge you in the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who is to  judge the living and the dead, and by His  appearing and His kingdom . . .  
(Paul says he stands before God and Christ Jesus.)
1Corinthians 2:4 and my  message and my preaching were  not in persuasive words of wisdom, but in demonstration of  the Spirit and of power(Paul boasts of the Spirit of God.)

1Corinthians 4:4 For I  am conscious of nothing against myself, yet I am not by this  acquitted; but the one who examines me is the Lord. (Paul boasts that his conscience is clear, for the Lord examines him.)

1Corinthians 9:1   Am I not  free? Am I not an apostle? Have I not  seen Jesus our Lord? Are you not my work in the Lord? (Paul boasts in the Lord.)

2Corinthians 1:12   For our  proud confidence is this: the testimony of  our conscience, that in holiness and  godly sincerity,  not in fleshly wisdom but in the grace of God, we have conducted ourselves in the world, and especially toward you. (Paul boasts of God’s grace which made he and his fellow missionaries holy and godly and sincere.)

2Corinthians 1:21 Now He who  establishes us with you in Christ and  anointed us is God,  22 who also  sealed us and  gave us the Spirit in our hearts as a pledge.  (Who anointed and sealed and gave the Spirit? Paul boasts in Christ and in God the Father.)

2Corinthians 11:30   If I have to boast, I will boast of what pertains to my  weakness.  31 The God and Father of the Lord Jesus,  He who is blessed forever,  knows that I am not lying.  (Paul boasts in his weakness, and boasts in God — that God knows his heart.)

2Corinthians 10:8 For even if  I boast somewhat  further about our  authority, which the Lord gave  for building you up and not for destroying you, I will not be put to shame,  (Paul boasts in the Lord’s authority.)

2Corinthians 12:9 And He has said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you,  for power is perfected in weakness.” Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.

He gladly (2234 sweetly, enjoying it) boasts of his weakness,
because Christ’s power is perfected
when we realize we have no power of our own!
THEN Jesus Christ’s power dwells in us!
That’s what Paul means when he says,
“Christ’s power is perfected.”

2Corinthians 5:20   Therefore, we are  ambassadors for Christ,  as though God were making an appeal through us; we beg you on behalf of Christ, be  reconciled to God.  (He speaks this to the church at Corinth.)

I beg this of you today, O Church, just as Paul begged the church at Corinth!

The Lord says, “The church MUST learn what Paul learned; she MUST become humble!”

She has become arrogant [inflated, puffed up, proud, haughty]
in behalf of one against another
just as with Paul vs. Apollos at Corinth (1Corinthians 4:6).

She does not seem to understand
that the words of the arrogant have no power (1Corinthians 4:18-20)
against the power of God.

She has become proud
of Christians who commit sexual immorality and other sins —
proud when she should be mourning
and removing them from her midst (1Corinthians 5:2).

Much of the church has first knowledge (1108),
through which she’s become proud and haughty,
but she does not have intimate knowledge (1097)
of the Lord (1Corinthians 8:1).

In my 1/10/2013 journal, the Lord spoke the following to me:

–My church has turned Me into “traditions,” just as My people Israel have done.

–My people exalt themselves and their wisdom against the knowledge of Me.

–Theirs are speculations, high and lofty thoughts of man (2Corinthians 10:5).

–They boast.

–They are wrong-headed because they are wrong-hearted,
and only I, the Lord, can change them.

–They use a different measuring stick than I, the Lord, use:
12-step programs, behavioral sciences, numbers,
beauty of buildings, degree of participation in social justice.

The Lord says these things are not His measuring stick.
He measures the heart of His people,
and not man’s striving to do good in his own strength.

And on 1/23/2013, in my time with Him:

They know better than Me — as a result, they fashion me into their image.

Much of the church boasts in what men can do, but her accomplishments are done without God,
thus revealing their spiritual state,
just as with the Corinthians —
they are not full of the Holy Ghost.

1Corinthians 4:7 For who regards you as superior?  What do you have that you did not receive? And if you did receive it, why do you boast as if you had not received it? 8 You are  already filled, you have already become rich, you have become kings without us; and indeed, I wish that you had become kings so that we also might reign with you.

Turn, O Church! Return to Him, and He will return to you!

I am an  ambassador for Christ,  as though God were making an appeal through me; I beg you on behalf of Christ, be  reconciled to God.

Jeremiah 9:23   Thus says the LORD, “ Let not a wise man boast of his wisdom, and let not the  mighty man boast of his might, let not a  rich man boast of his riches;  24 but let him who boasts  boast of this, that he understands and knows Me [3045 yada, intimacy as in a marriage in view], that I am the LORD who  exercises lovingkindness, justice and righteousness on earth; for I  delight in these things,” declares the LORD.

Paul quotes Jeremiah to Corinth in (1Corinthians 1:31 and 2Corinthians 10:17).

Boast in Him, not yourself, O Church!
Boast that He is THE Lord
That He has great lovingkindness,
but He is also righteous (His ways are always right)
and because He is just, He will judge the unrighteous, each according to his deeds.

He delights (2654) to exercise lovingkindness toward you.
He delights in always doing right.
He delights in being just!

O Church, boast in Him instead of your own accomplishments —
it will delight Him!

When He delights,
He is moved,
He bends down to make Himself known to you,
He is pleased with you,
He desires you,
He shows favor to you.

It is not too late, O Church!

If you will agree with God,
and prostrate yourself before Him,
confessing your boasting
and your arrogance,
HE WILL COME IN,
and sup with you,
and you with Him (Revelation 3:20) —
THAT’S INTIMACY!

Confess your sin to your Father in heaven!
He’ll release His power into you!
He will release His love into you,
filling you with His Holy Spirit!

Author: Susan Wynn, servant of Jesus Christ

Healed by Jesus Christ of MS in 2001, in the middle of the night! Proclaiming His gospel, His healing, His heart. Author of From Death To Life--A True Story of Healing, Hope and Being Set Free. Our ministry: My Father's Place, a ministry without walls, proclaiming Jesus Christ to the world.

Leave a Reply

