TRAINING WHEELS

Jeff and I have entered into a new season of our walk with our Lord Jesus Christ. I will blog as I go, because the Lord asked me to do it. Maybe it will be a blessing to you.

Remember when you were a kid and just graduating from tricycle to bicycle?

My mom and dad bought me my first bike, complete with training wheels to help me keep my balance. As soon as I was comfortable, it was time to take off my training wheels. Yikes!

In my mind’s eye, I see the glorious day of graduation, just like it was yesterday: I was in the driveway with Dad, making turns and tipping over. I skinned my knees more than once.

I remember how when I fell, he hugged me, picked me up, put me back in the bicycle seat, and said, “Don’t give up! You can do it!” Suddenly, I got my sense of balance, and off I went!

I needed some bandaids on my knees that night, lovingly applied by Mom. But I was off and running! Wooo-hoo!

Its kind of like that for me right now. For the first time ever, I’m in a Pentecostal church (the Church of God in Christ), learning how to get my balance with the spiritual gifts God gave me 13 years ago this November.

I have my training wheels on right now. My previous church did not move in a Pentecostal way, so I didn’t get much practice there.

But now I have an anointed, godly pastor that’s watching me like my Dad did, with great love. I’m in a church that preaches holiness of heart as a work only God can do, in our hearts. I’m in a church that works in the gifts of the Spirit (1 Corinthians 12-14). And the whole church picks me up and hugs me and encourages me to continue, if I lose my balance a bit.

It will be no time at all before the Holy Spirit makes me able to free-wheel it. Jesus Christ said He’d make me able to do what He did, and greater (John 14:12), and I know He is faithful and will do it. The result? I’ll be able to more effectively give what I have received (Matthew 10:8).

All of the preachers I’ve met and heard so far in the Church of God in Christ are heavily anointed, speaking in and moving in the power and gifts and love of the Holy Spirit. If I were to compare myself with these anointed men and women, I would be intimidated and feel entirely out of my league. I’m in the minors, and they are in the majors!

But when those thoughts creep in, I take them captive to the obedience of Christ. We each have a unique anointing, and I have learned that we are all growing — even these giants in the faith.

So I’m respectfully and reverently — but freely —  tooling around the Church of God in Christ. And my arms are open wide to hug and encourage my brothers and sisters as we all learn, in the Lord! Glory to God!

 

Author: Susan Wynn, servant of Jesus Christ

Healed by Jesus Christ of MS in 2001, in the middle of the night! Proclaiming His gospel, His healing, His heart. Author of From Death To Life--A True Story of Healing, Hope and Being Set Free. Our ministry: My Father's Place, a ministry without walls, proclaiming Jesus Christ to the world.

Leave a Reply

