HEALER OF HEARTS

[SW248] 09/16/2016 message notes by

Reverend/Evangelist Susan J. Wynn ©2016

“Healer of Hearts”

[These notes are brief. Please view the video of this message. The links are to the right of this post, on my blog.]

Texts: Isaiah 61, Psalm 51

You are a member of the Wounded Hearts Club, just like I was. Jesus Christ, the Healer of Hearts says, “Come humbly to Me, and I will heal Your heart!”

Isaiah 61:1 The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me,

Because the Lord has anointed me

To bring good news to the afflicted;

He has sent me to bind up (heal) the brokenhearted (hearts in pieces),

To proclaim liberty (the Year of the Lord’s favor for YOU) to captives

And freedom (rapid movement, spontaneous outflow) to prisoners (of their        . brokenness;

2  To proclaim the favorable year of the Lord

And the day of vengeance of our God;

To comfort all who mourn,

3  To grant those who mourn in Zion,

Giving them a garland instead of ashes,

The oil of gladness instead of mourning,

The mantle of praise instead of a spirit of fainting.

So they will be called oaks of righteousness,

The planting of the Lord, that He may be glorified.

The Lord has brought many before my eyes lately, who have shattered hearts. He has come to bind up (heal) the broken-hearted, those whose hearts are shattered beyond any kind of repair that humans could ever perform. I am here to tell you that it is true, because He did it in me! I come to proclaim that what He says is true, so you may be healed and then declare the same thing!

My situation in 1976:

Abused

Addicted

Broken in every way (shattered heart and mind)

Confused

Desperate

My identity:

Member of the Wounded Hearts Club.

I had no other identity. I knew nothing but my woundedness. I did not know how to live any other way but as a wounded person.

I had:

Left my drug life and my drug-dealer first husband.

Come home to my parents.

But now what? I was no longer T.A.’s chick. I was separated from everything that had caused my wounds. I was afraid!

One night:

I cried out in the night, as I was lying in bed, “I don’t have the strength for this!”

And suddenly, in my heart, I heard as if it was an audible voice, “You have MY strength!” I knew it was God! Then I went to sleep.

The next day:

My mind was clear of the drug fog

I was no longer confused

I was no longer afraid

I had no desire for drugs

The personality I had before Tim and drugs was restored in me

Because the Lord removed the 2-1/2 years of scar tissue that was around my heart,

caused by emotional and physical abuse that my drug abuse dulled

I knew it was all right to divorce Tim.

And so:

I began to plan my life. I went back to college in the fall, met Jeff, fell in love. But my heart was not fully healed. I didn’t really understand that it was not healed, or that it needed healing. All I knew was that I did not trust Jeff, though he was always good and kind and loving to me.

Why didn’t Jesus fully heal my heart? It was because I went on with my life and ignored Him after that middle-of-the-night encounter. Had I stayed, He would have completed His work!

So Jeff finally said to me, “I am not Tim.” It was like a dagger in my chest. I could see what he was saying! We could not go on together unless I began trusting him and stopped expecting him to abuse me as Tim did. So I did an “attitude adjustment,” and in the natural, I began to trust Jeff more. So we married.

Eighteen years later, I was stricken with MS. I went back to church and both Jeff and I were saved and believed in Jesus Christ. We even became church board members. A few years after that, my newly appointed pastor, Rev. David “Doc” Uber, spoke from the pulpit that he had a vision and in it, I was healed!

Then he gave every member of the church board Tommy Tenney’s The God Chasers. The Lord put such a hunger in my heart to know Him that way! I cried out in prayer to Him.

I tell you He is good, He is merciful, and He brought me near!

Here’s how:

Before Pastor Doc would begin working with me to show me that Jesus still heals, he said I had to do two things. He gave them to me one at a time:

First, I had to ask the Lord if I was right with Him. I was offended but did not say so. But I thought, “What? I am saved, I am a church board member, of course I must be right with God.” But I couldn’t argue with the Holy Spirit. I felt compelled to obey Pastor Doc. So I asked that night, in a short prayer to the Lord. And I did not get an answer. I told Pastor Doc the next morning.

Now Pastor Doc gave me the second thing I must do before we could begin. “Do you have any unforgiveness (holding a grudge against someone) in your heart?”

Immediately, the Holy Spirit brought Tim to mind, and I blurted out, “My first husband.” So I went to the Lord that night. I just wanted to know Him, and I knew my unforgiveness was sin and stood in the way of knowing the Lord —

Matthew 6:14-15 Jesus says, “For if you forgive others for their transgressions, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. “But if you do not forgive others, then your Father will not forgive your transgressions.”

I knew I could not forgive without His help. So I asked Him to take my unforgiveness from me. I was broken, I was humble before Him, I was contrite before Him, knowing it was nothing I could do. I trusted Him that He would do it, and He did, as I prayed and asked, in that very moment. I felt it lift from my shoulders, as if the Lord had taken a burden from me (Matthew 11:28-30)!

Broken and contrite. This heart He will not despise. This heart He will recognize. This heart’s cry, He will hear.

It is just as it was with King David, who had sinned against the Lord with Bathsheba and arranged for her husband to be murdered. When God’s prophet spoke it to him, he repented. He said in Psalm 51:10, “Create for me a clean (pure) heart, O God, and renew an upright spirit in me . . .” Because he knew his brokenness was caused by his sin.

I knew my brokenness was caused by my sin. At the rehearsal, the night before I married Tim, I had run from the church into the graveyard, crying, “This is not right! This is not right!” The Lord was trying to speak to me, but everyone said it was just the wedding jitters, and I did not obey God’s warning. I married Tim.

Not long after I confessed and asked the Lord to take my sin, I was healed of MS, (it has now been fifteen years!). But I didn’t run off, as I had when He said, “You have my strength.”

I stayed and waited and prayed to be filled with His Holy Spirit. On November 1, 2001, at 2 p.m., I was filled and the Lord COMPLETED the healing of my wounded heart. Now, not only had I forgiven Tim, but I freely forgive and love people with God’s actual love that has filled my heart (Romans 5:5)! Freely it has been given to me, freely I give (Matthew 10:8)!

It was scary to give up my identity as a member of the Wounded Hearts Club. It is scary for you now. You know only how to be a wounded person. It was the same with me. You do not trust. It was the same with me. You relive your wounds, over and over. It was the same with me.

But if you come to Him today, with a humble and contrite heart, He will hear your cry. He is gentle. A smoldering wick He will not extinguish, and a bruised reed He will not break. He is gentle.

Come! He will restore your personality and give you a whole new identity as a child of God! But don’t run off like I did!

Stay! He will heal your heart fully if you continue with Him and WAIT for the whole healing to be done, when He fills you with His Spirit! Stay, and He will complete the work, the healing that only He can do! Amen!

Author: Susan Wynn, servant of Jesus Christ

Healed by Jesus Christ of MS in 2001, in the middle of the night! Proclaiming His gospel, His healing, His heart. Author of From Death To Life--A True Story of Healing, Hope and Being Set Free. Our ministry: My Father's Place, a ministry without walls, proclaiming Jesus Christ to the world.

Leave a Reply

